top of page
The Spirit Of ChristmasAward Recipient Michael Rielly
MJR JPEG-0028_edited.jpg

It's with great joy that we announce that

Michael Rielly is the 2023 


Mike has been involved in the Bristol Community since he was a child, learning about giving to those in need and spreading the Spirit of Christmas, from his "Papa," James D. Rielly.  Mike, a member of numerous community organizations, founded the James D. Rielly Foundation in 2017, to formalize the continuation of his Papa's life mission.

And, last year, as an outreach of the James D. Rielly Foundation, Mike spearheaded the Santa House,  with a mission of creating magical Christmas experiences for children of all ages and abilities. Mike and his wife, Patricia, have been married for 24 years and have two children, Sean and Meghan.

Meet Mike at the


Click here for tickets.

About the Dottie Cordeiro Spirit of Christmas Award

The Dottie Cordeiro Spirit of Christmas Award is presented annually to a person or persons who exemplify and practice the meaning of Christmas year-round. Award recipients willingly give their time, effort and generosity of spirit and compassion for others.

The award is named for Dorothy “Dottie” Cordeiro who, along with Halsey Herreshoff, founded the Bristol Christmas Festival in 1987. It is presented annually to recognize Bristolians who exemplify the spirit and tradition of the Christmas season not only during the holidays but throughout the entire year.

Past Spirit of Christmas Award Recipients

2022 – Judy and Don Squires

2021 – Jennifer Mancieri and the Ladies Auxiliary of the Bristol Fire Department

2020 – Paul Vollaro

2019 – Michael Hoffman

2018 – Rayona Clemens

2017 – Michael Byrnes

2016 – Bristol Rhode Island Police Department

2015 – Stan Dimock

2014 – Patti and Rick Baccus

2013 – Alfred Brazil

2012 – Dorothy Cordeio and Halsey Herreshoff

2011 – Mike Davis McGonagle

2010 – Joan Doyle Roth

2009 – Madeline Grimo

2008 – Nancy Horne

2006 – Roz Januario

2005 – Antonio "Tony" Teixeira

2004 – Walter Burke

2003 – Deacon Bernard Theroux

2002 – Santa Matrone

2001 – Bristol Rhode Island Fire Department

2000 – Donna and Herculano Falcoa

1999 – Robert Garcia

1998 – Lynn and Richard Luiz

1997 – Mickie and Gerry MacNeill

bottom of page